05
Jul
10

Putting My Father, Thurgood Marshall, On Trial

I was too young to attend the confirmation hearing of my father, Thurgood Marshall, before the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee 43 years ago. But I have been witness to a rehearing of sorts as the Senate Judiciary Committee considers Elena Kagan’s nomination to the Supreme Court.

I believe that this spectacle is partly a result of my father having lived a life of consequence as a practicing attorney and as a jurist. The rhetoric serves as a reminder that President Lyndon Johnson displayed wisdom and great courage in nominating my father to the Supreme Court.

0 Responses to “Putting My Father, Thurgood Marshall, On Trial”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

